skip to Main Content


The Amsterdam Medical Student journal (AMSj) is a scientific medical journal enabling medical students to publish their clinical observations, research articles and case reports. The journal was founded by students from the locations Academic Medical Center (AMC) and the VU University Medical Center (VUmc) Amsterdam of the Amsterdam UMC, making it the first student-based collaboration between two of the largest medical faculties in the Netherlands. AMSj is a non-profit organization and we strive to inspire students to engage in scientific research. Our goal is to facilitate a unique learning experience for students and help with the development of their academic skills in both writing and reviewing scientific papers. The entire journal is created and published by students and staff members from both faculties. Although the journal is founded in Amsterdam, students from other faculties are also invited to submit their research. If you are a student and wish to submit your paper, you are welcome to do so. A team of students and staff members will review all papers and provide the student with professional feedback. Please contact your principal investigator before submitting your paper and carefully read our guidelines for submission. AMSj publishes four editions a year. Every four editions the best paper will be granted the AMSj Award and a thousand Euros to spend on future research.


Creative editor

Deadline application: 14 September 2019

Start function: October 2019

Will you be the new creative brain of our journal? We are searching for a new creative editor who will be responsible for the lay-out of the three-monthly AMSj edition, the posters and additional promotional material.

The creative editor is part of the editorial board. The editorial board consists of two staff Editor-in-Chiefs (AMC and VUmc) and two student Editor-in-Chiefs (AMC and VUmc), assisted by a content editor, native editor and a creative editor.

The role of the creative editor takes around 3 – 5 hours per month, mainly in the period before the publication date. Additionally, you are expected to attend the editorial board’s quarterly meetings.

If you are interested in joining our team, please apply by submitting your résuméand motivational letter(in NL/EN). Also, you have to meet the conditionsfor applicants:

  • Creative mind and affinity with design
  • Preferably: experience with and possession of the program InDesign
  • Lives in the Netherlands
  • Speaks and writes Dutch and English fluently

If you have additional questions, don’t hesitate to contact us via


M.A. Kempeneers

Editor in Chief


Z. Popal

Editor in Chief

G.E. Linthorst

G.E. Linthorst

Editor in Chief

F. Daams

F. Daams

Editor in Chief

Foto Daphne

D.H. Schoenmakers

Creative Editor


M. de Jong

Native Editor


T.P.A. Brouwer

Content Editor

AMSj Board


J.M. Tettero



C.A. Leseman

Secretary & IT


K. Vorstermans



J. Balikji

Public Relations


S.R. Ursem

Board Member AMC


E. Doedens

Board Member VUmc



Bas Bossers (MD VUmc)

Niek Sperna Weiland (MD AMC)

Pam Molenaar (Medical student)

Nora Chekrouni (Medical student)


Guus de Waard (MD VUmc)

Maite van Haeren (Medical student)


Louise Gerbens (MD AMC)

Mèdelyn Wennekers (Medical student)


Francien de Leeuw (MD VUmc)

Eveline van Poelgeest (MD AMC)

Marit Jonker (Medical student)

Barbara Verhaar (Medical student)


Kevin Voogdt (MD VUmc)

Moniek Haverkort (Medical student)


Jacqueline Cloos (MD VUmc)

Jesse Tettero (Medical student)

Internal Medicine - Endocrinology

Jennifer ten Kulve (MD VUmc)

Eleonore Corazolla (Medical student)

Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology

Koos de Wit (MD AMC)

Milou Michael (Medical student)

Internal Medicine - Nephrology

Liffert Vogt (MD AMC)

Larissa Heideman (Medical student)

Internal Medicine - Oncology

Hanneke Wilmink (MD AMC)

Remco Molenaar (MD AMC)

Els Neefjes (Medical student)

Meedi Ali (Medical student)


Matthijs Brouwer (MD AMC)

Koos van Dam (Medical student)


Stanley Darma (MD AMC)

Bram de Jong (Medical student)


Matthias Schafroth (MD AMC)

Reiner Spek (Medical student)


Merijn Bijlsma (MD VUmc)

Esmee Doedes (Medical student)


Pelle de Koning (MD VUmc)

Derek Simons (Medical student)

Pulmonary Medicine

Nina Rol (MD VUmc)

Neeltje Rosenberg (Medical student)


Mario Maas (MD AMC)

Sanne van Beem (Medical student)


Rianne van Bentum (MD VUmc)

Merve Kocyigit (Medical student)


Birgit Lissenberg-Witte (MD VUmc)

Stijn de Jonge (MD AMC)


Jurrien Stiekema (MD AMC)

Jisce Puik (Medical student)

Former Board members


S. Veldkamp
December 2017 – November 2018


K. Verdeyen
May 2017 – December 2017


R.M. van den Hurk
February 2016 – May 2017


E.C. Schuts
August 2014 – February 2016


W.D. Krishnasing (& IT)
June 2017 – November 2018


R.V. Baboeram Panday
May 2016 – June 2017


C.A.M. ten Broeke
August 2014 – May 2016


I. de Brouwer

March 2018 – April 2019

A.J. Hoving
June 2016 March 2018


K. Verdeyen
June 2016 – May 2017

Public Relations

O. Moussa

March 2018 – April 2019


S. Veldkamp 
June 2017 – December 2017


R. Rassir (& IT)
February 2016 – June 2017


K.F. de Geus (& IT)
August 2014 – February 2016

Vice chair

R.M. Holewijn
July 2015 – March 2016


J.R. Heijnen
September 2014 – July 2015


R.M. van den Hurk
February 2016 – May 2017


E.C. Schuts
August 2014 – February 2016


M. Bakkum
August 2014 – May 2015

Board members (AMC/VUmc)

E.M. van Praag

March 2018 – April 2019


J.M. Tettero
March 2018 November 2018


J.W. Bruggeman
June 2017 March 2018


B. Lebbink
December 2016 March 2018


K. Verdeyen
June 2016 – May 2017


M.M. Wennekers
June 2016 – June 2017


A.W.D. Edridge
January 2015 – November 2016


R.M. Holewijn
July 2015 – March 2016


S.S.S. Faraj
August 2014 – June 2015


B. van Lier
August 2014 – January 2015

Editor in Chief

A.V. de Jonge
June 2017 – November 2018


M.T.U. Schuijt
December 2016 – March 2018


A. Farokhi 
March 2016 – June 2017


H. Bahadurzada 
August 2014 – December 2016


J.J.K. van Diemen 
August 2014 – March 2016


Y.M. Smulders
August 2014 – January 2016

Back To Top